France Vélo Tourisme Rechercher une étape
Find my cycling route

No stage matches your requirements

By continuing to navigate on this website, you agree to the use of cookies that will propose contents and services that correspond to your areas of interest. Learn more and manage your settings

From the D-Day Landing Beaches to the Mont-Saint-Michel by bike

  • 300 km

This itinerary invites you to explore our historic and cultural heritage by linking two world famous sites from D-Day with two attractions listed by UNESCO: the Bayeux tapestry and the Mont-Saint-Michel. On this route, you can take in the rich Normandy countryside with stops in Port-en-Bessin, Arromanches, Utah Beach, the natural wetlands of the Cherbourg Peninsula, Bayeux, the Souleuvre Viaduct, the ‘Bocage Normand’ district and the bay of the Mont Saint-Michel.

Map loading...
Green pictograms are for Cyclists Welcome service providers
Chargement en cours... loading

Stages of « From the D-Day Landing Beaches to the Mont-Saint-Michel by bike »

  • Carentan / St-Jean-de-Daye

    Carentan / St-Jean-de-Daye [25 km]

    During this stretch of your journey you move from the lower lying wetlands, with their characteristic network of channels and canals, through to the hedged pastures that are home to many of the stud farms that make this part of France the centre of the racehorse industry– watch out for signs to the local ‘hippodromes’.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • St-Jean-de-Daye / St-Lo

    St-Jean-de-Daye / St-Lo [23.1 km]

    Follow the pretty, winding Vire Canal through lush countryside all the way to St Lo. Heavily destroyed in 1944, “The Capital of Ruins” has risen from the ashes to become a lively, bustling place, with enough reminders of the past to make this town a fascinating diversion – including an abbey church and relics of the old citadel.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • St-Lô / Condé-sur-Vire

    St-Lô / Condé-sur-Vire [12.1 km]

    The short distance to Conde-sur-Vire takes you through some of the most picturesque parts of the valley - with hedgerows full of wild flowers, and sheep, horses and cattle grazing in peaceful pastures as you wind your way along. There are also plenty of tempting bars and creperies to sample local delicacies!

    Difficulty: family View details
  • Condé-sur-Vire / Pont-Farcy

    Condé-sur-Vire / Pont-Farcy [19.5 km]

    Following the Vire Valley your route then winds through rural villages and pretty hamlets to the mediaeval town of Tessy-sur-Vire, which has some fine granite buildings. En route, look out for a rocky outcrop called ‘Les Roches de Ham’ dominating the valley - some 100 metres high, and offering spectacular views.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • Pont-Farcy / La Ferrière-Harang

    Pont-Farcy / La Ferrière-Harang [15 km]

    Pont Farcy, now bypassed from the main road, is a modestly built village but one with a long and proud history: it has its origins in Gallo-Roman times and it has long been an important inland port (some 100km from the coast) and a crossing place over the Vire – notably for those making pilgrimages to Mont St Michel.

    Difficulty: expert View details
  • Arromanches > Port-en-Bessin > Bayeux

    Arromanches > Port-en-Bessin > Bayeux [14 km]

    Relive something of D-Day and the famous Battle of Normandy. Discover the legendary D-Day landing beaches, where the unforgettable Allied Operation Overlord swung into action on 6th June 1944, witnessing so many feats of bravery. On a quieter note, this section of the Véloroute crosses many pretty villages with their old stone houses and passes in front of many grand farms that often look like manors – they were built at a period when these rich agricultural lands brought prosperity to landowners in the area.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • Bayeux / Tilly-sur-Seulles

    Bayeux / Tilly-sur-Seulles [22 km]

    The Véloroute Plages du Débarquement Mont Saint-Michel leads you along small roads crossing the Bessin area around Bayeux. One unforgettable stop along this stage is the Abbey of Juaye Mondaye. Originally built by the Prémontré religious order some 800 years ago, it was rebuilt in the 18th century and is a masterpiece of the Classical period. The architectural and ornamental ensemble is striking for its sobriety and its sense of balanced harmony.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • Tilly-sur-Seulles / Villers-Bocage

    Tilly-sur-Seulles / Villers-Bocage [17 km]

    You continue cycling through history along the Véloroute Plages du Débarquement Mont Saint-Michel by entering the lanes of the Bocage Normand area, with its long-established pastures divided by hedgerows. At Tilly-sur-Seulles, stop to contemplate the perfect alignment of the rows of white headstones in the British Military Cemetery, an indelible reminder of terrible losses suffered here during the Battle of Normandy.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • Villers-Bocage / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre)

    Villers-Bocage / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre) [27 km]

    The itinerary signposted for you on leaving Villers-Bocage is provisional. Cyclists are advised to take particular care on the 1km stretch along the D 675 road. Then you plunge once again into the typical countryside of the Bocage Normand, going via the Crahan Valley. Next comes the magnificent Forêt de l'Evèque before you arrive at a sensational spot beloved of adrenaline junkies – the Souleuvre Viaduct, well known to bungee jumpers.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • La Ferrière-Harang / Vire

    La Ferrière-Harang / Vire [18.4 km]

    This part of the route takes you past one of the most spectacular edifices along the Vire: the Viaduc de la Souleuvre. Once a hugely impressive railway viaduct designed by Gustave Eiffel, arching over the valley on five granite pillars, it survived the War but was demolished in 1970 – and is now popular for bungee jumping.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • Vire / Sourdeval

    Vire / Sourdeval [24.2 km]

    The busy market town of Vire has ancient roots, but it was heavily reconstructed after Allied bombing in 1944. Look beyond the present day and you’ll find remains of the 12th century fortifications built by Henry I, ruler of England and Normandy. And do try Vire’s culinary speciality – the Andouille smoked sausage.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • Sourdeval / Mortain

    Sourdeval / Mortain [18.2 km]

    Leaving Sourdeval you enter very pretty country: the area around Mortain is surrounded by woods and here, amidst tranquil, shaded surroundings in a deep, green-wooded gorge, the waters of Cance and Cancon cascade to create waterfalls. Mortain also hosts a memorial to the heroism of the defenders of Hill 314.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • Mortain / St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët

    Mortain / St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët [14.9 km]

    The enchanting Cance waterfalls are a focal point of the powerful local terrain, carving between steep hills, an untamed heart of ‘Armorican Normandy’. The greenway then heads towards St-Hilaire which precedes your arrival in the Bay of Mont Saint-Michel.

    Difficulty: family View details
  • St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët / Ducey

    St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët / Ducey [19 km]

    Stronghold between Brittany, Cotentin and the Loire country, St Hilaire du Harcouët offers many activities during the summer around the Prieuré lakes. This stage of la Véloscénie and the Petit Tour de Manche, travelling along a greenway, is full of life.

    Difficulty: Intermediate View details
  • Ducey / Mont-Saint-Michel

    Ducey / Mont-Saint-Michel [31.1 km]

    The final stage of la Véloscénie and a spectacular resting point on the Tour de Manche, where the greenway rolls all the way to the mouth of the Sélune. From there on, as you travel on shared roads, you can indulge in a feast for the eyes: Mont-Saint-Michel rises up, a colourful panorama, set like a jewel in the circle of the bay.

    Difficulty: Intermediate Favourite View details

France Vélo Tourisme Rechercher une étape
Trouver mon parcours vélo

Il n'existe aucune étape correspondant a vos critères

En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l’utilisation de cookies pour vous proposer des contenus et services adaptés à vos centres d’intérêt. Explications et gestion des paramètres

Des Plages du débarquement au Mont-Saint-Michel à vélo

  • 300 km

Véritable route de la Liberté pour les vélotouristes, cet itinéraire mêle tourisme de mémoire et héritage culturel en desservant les célèbres plages du Jour-J et deux sites classés à l’Unesco : la Tapisserie de Bayeux et le Mont-Saint-Michel. Tout au long de ce circuit, vous serez aussi émus par le patrimoine naturel normand à Port-en-Bessin, du marais du Cotentin, du Viaduc de la Souleuvre, et par l’histoire de hauts faits d’armes à Arromanches et Utah Beach.

Chargement de la carte en cours
En vert, les services "Accueil Vélo"
Chargement en cours... loading

Les étapes de « Des Plages du débarquement au Mont-Saint-Michel à vélo »

  • Carentan / St-Jean-de-Daye

    Carentan / St-Jean-de-Daye [25 km]

    Vous quittez à présent les marais et leurs réseaux de chenaux et canaux caractéristiques pour entrer dans le bocage normand. Les élevages de chevaux sont très nombreux dans cette région de France, considérée comme la capitale du cheval. Gardez l'œil ouvert pour repérer les panneaux vous indiquant la direction des hippodromes locaux.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • St-Jean-de-Daye / St-Lô

    St-Jean-de-Daye / St-Lô [23.1 km]

    Suivez le cours du Canal de Vire qui serpente jusqu'à Saint-Lô à travers une campagne aux paysages de carte postale. À votre arrivée à Saint-Lô, vous serez surpris par un patrimoine exceptionnel souvent peu connu : le Haras National, les remparts datant du Moyen-Age... Malgré l’ampleur des destructions subies en 1944, Saint-Lô est devenue aujourd’hui une ville dynamique et débordante d'animations.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • St-Lô / Condé-sur-Vire

    St-Lô / Condé-sur-Vire [12.1 km]

    La courte distance qui sépare Saint-Lô de Conde-sur-Vire vous conduit à travers la partie la plus pittoresque de la vallée. Tout autour de vous : des pâturages paisibles, des moutons, des chevaux, des haies pleines de fleurs sauvages. Et partout sur la route, des bars et des crêperies où l'on se régale des produits locaux.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Condé-sur-Vire / Pont-Farcy

    Condé-sur-Vire / Pont-Farcy [19.5 km]

    L’itinéraire longe d'abord la vallée de la Vire, puis traverse plusieurs communes rurales et de ravissants hameaux jusqu'à la ville médiévale de Tessy-sur-Vire, où l'on peut voir de très belles constructions en granit. En chemin, guettez les panneaux d'indications pour "Les Roches de Ham" : ce promontoire rocheux situé à quelques 100 mètres de hauteur offre une vue spectaculaire sur la nature environnante.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Pont-Farcy / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre)

    Pont-Farcy / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre) [15 km]

    C’est dans le charmant village de Pont-Farcy que la véloroute du Tour de Manche change d’orientation et de difficulté : du nord au sud depuis Carentan, la Vire y bifurque et votre parcours, désormais plus pentu, se dirige désormais vers l’est. L’étape débute dans ce paisible bourg, lové dans un cadre naturel préservé et doté d’un camping municipal, puis offre de splendides panoramas en dominant les boucles de la Vire pour rejoindre La Ferrière-Harang, site sportif et sauvage du bocage normand.

    Difficulté : Expert voir le détail
  • Arromanches > Port-en-Bessin > Bayeux

    Arromanches > Port-en-Bessin > Bayeux [14 km]

    Revivez le D-Day et la célèbre bataille de Normandie. Partez à la découverte de ces plages mythiques, témoins de l'Histoire et lieu de la célèbre opération Overlord du 6 juin 44. Les petites routes de cette véloroute traversent de jolis villages avec des maisons empierrées et des « fermes manoirs » construites à l'époque de l’économie prospère des riches exploitations agricoles.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Bayeux / Tilly-sur-Seulles

    Bayeux / Tilly-sur-Seulles [22 km]

    La véloroute « Plages du débarquement Mont-Saint-Michel » vous conduira sur les petites routes du Bessin, avec un passage par l’inoubliable Abbaye Juaye Mondaye, édifiée il y a 800 ans par des chanoines prémontrés. Reconstruite au XVIIIe siècle, elle est un chef-d’œuvre du classicisme. L’ensemble architectural et ornemental de l’abbatiale séduit par sa sobriété, son équilibre et son harmonie.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Tilly-sur-Seulles / Villers-Bocage

    Tilly-sur-Seulles / Villers-Bocage [17 km]

    À vélo dans la grande roue de l’Histoire, l’itinéraire « Plages du débarquement Mont-Saint-Michel » poursuit son cheminement sur les petites routes du Bocage normand. Lors de votre passage à Tilly-sur-Seulles, remarquez l’alignement parfait des stèles blanches du cimetière militaire britannique, trace indélébile de la Bataille de Normandie.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Villers-Bocage / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre)

    Villers-Bocage / La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre) [27 km]

    L’itinéraire proposé à la sortie de Villers-Bocage est provisoire, une attention particulière est demandée aux cyclistes quand vous emprunterez la D 675 (1km). Vous plongez ensuite au cœur du Bocage Normand avec un passage par la vallée de Crahan. La véloroute s’enfonce dans la magnifique forêt de l’Evèque avant d’arriver au rendez-vous des amateurs d’adrénaline : le viaduc de la Souleuvre.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre) / Vire

    La Ferrière-Harang (viaduc de la Souleuvre) / Vire [18.4 km]

    Tandis que nous notre parcours se rapproche de la source de la Vire, plus au sud, sa vallée nous emmène à travers bocages et vallées du fameux viaduc de la Souleuvre (lire l’étape précédente) jusqu’à la ville de Vire, sa Porte-Horloge et ses savoir-faire artisans.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Vire / Sourdeval

    Vire / Sourdeval [24.2 km]

    Si Vire a dû être reconstruite suite aux bombardements alliés de 1944, la plus grande ville du sud-ouest du Calvados conserve le charme indéniable de ses marchés animés, et jouit d’une réputation nationale quant à son patrimoine gastronomique et ses savoir-faire d’artisanat (lire étape précédente). Cette étape vous fera contourner la ville par l’ouest, avant de se frayer une route toujours plus au sud, immergés dans cette campagne normande bucolique que beaucoup nous envient.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Sourdeval / Mortain

    Sourdeval / Mortain [18.2 km]

    Quittant Sourdeval, vous entrez bientôt dans une campagne pleine de charme : Mortain et ses alentours sont entourés de bois verts et touffus. C'est dans cette gorge paisible et ombragée que se trouvent les cascades au confluent de la Cance et du Cançon. À Mortain, un mémorial américain dédié à l'héroïsme des soldats morts en Corée en défendant la base 314 constitue un autre point d'intérêt.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • Mortain / St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët

    Mortain / St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët [14.9 km]

    À flancs de coteaux, surgit Mortain, cœur verdoyant du bocage normand, carrefour du Tour de Manche et de la Véloscénie. Le site enchanteur de la cascade des eaux de la Cance illustre bien cet environnement aux reliefs escarpés, donnant un tour sauvage à cette Normandie armoricaine.

    Difficulté : Famille voir le détail
  • St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët / Ducey

    St-Hilaire-du-Harcouët / Ducey [19 km]

    Place forte entre Bretagne, Cotentin et pays ligérien, fondée et fortifiée par un compagnon d’armes de Guillaume le Conquérant, St-Hilaire du Harcouët vous propose de nombreuses activités durant l'été autour des Plans d'eau du Prieuré. Une étape de la Véloscénie et du Petit Tour de Manche pleine de vitalité jusqu’à Ducey !

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire voir le détail
  • Ducey / Mont-Saint-Michel

    Ducey / Mont-Saint-Michel [31.1 km]

    L’ultime étape de la Véloscénie, pause grandiose sur le Tour de Manche, où la voie verte ondule jusqu’à l’embouchure de la Sélune. Débute ensuite sur les routes empruntées, un festival d’aperçus, le Mont-Saint-Michel jouant du halo de la baie pour apparaître en colorama.

    Difficulté : Intermédiaire Coup de coeur voir le détail